Lina left from Istanbul for Manila at 2AM on January 18.  I had a 14 hour layover and spent part of that time wandering through Istanbul.  The Metro from the airport stops at Aksaray Station and that is where my wanderings started and ended.  The photos here were taken from 7:40, just before dawn, until just after noon.

img_1233

img_1240
Dawn over the Bosporus, Asia in the distance

This was a magical time to walk through the narrow streets of a district around the Süleymaniye Mosque.  I found old wooden buildings, some in good repair, others falling down.

img_1224img_1235img_1234img_1225

A sign on a home in Ayranci Street told me the building was 180 years old.

img_1239

img_1237
Street art at the corner of Ayranci Street

Mosques were flood lit before dawn,

img_1228
The Süleymaniye Mosque on Istanbul’s Third Hill
img_1231
A former hamam or “Turkish bath” seen from the grounds of the Süleymaniye Mosque

markets were waking up,

img_1245

img_1244
All the vendors I saw were men. How striking when, in so many countries, women are selling goods from stalls like these.
img_1241
Herbs and spices – some, I think, for tea like the rose buds in the foreground.
img_1243
Many kinds of “biber” or pepper

and I had nothing but kindness from the man who sold me some burek (cheese pie) and tea, the vendor who pressed fresh pomegranate juice

img_1249

and all the other “strangers” whom I encountered as I walked the morning streets.

img_1247
A ferry carries passengers across the Bosporus.
img_1251
The University of Istanbul’s front gate
img_1253
A doorway with three mannequins beckons.
img_1254
Inside, a courtyard surrounded by arcades …

 

img_1255
and a marble fountain.

Life offers such rewards when I can trust myself to wandering.